Blog For Mental Health 2015

art by Piper Macenzie

“I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2015 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”    –blogformentalhealth.com

I have struggled with mental illness for nearly half my life. Over time I have fought battles with social anxiety, general anxiety, major depression, ptsd, anorexia, insomnia, seasonal affective disorder, and borderline personality disorder. I am still fighting many of these battles today. I have been in recovery for two years now and counting. Lots of therapy (CBT and DBT), hospitalizations, and medication have helped me greatly, but it was accepting that my weaknesses can be strengths is what helped me choose to turn my life around. I am very interested in what makes us human, and I believe that mental illness is something that does. I believe my mental illnesses are human qualities, but to the extreme. That is why I call my blog A Super-Human Life. We are extra human, super human. And I’m proud of that.

3 comments

  1. Cat · February 11, 2015

    I look forward to reading more of your post. I have tweeted your pledge for the BFMH…. it’s an excellent platform for us to contribute our small part in eradicating/reducing stigma in MH

    Liked by 1 person

    • asuperhumanlife · February 11, 2015

      Thank you! I plan on elaborating more on the topic of being super human and reducing the stigma as I find time 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: a super-human life | The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

Leave a Reply

